Texas Health and Human Services

The mission of HHSC is to maintain and improve the health and human services system in Texas and to administer its programs in accordance with the highest standards of customer service and accountability for the effective use of funds.

HHSC oversees the operations of the health and human services system, provides administrative oversight of Texas health and human services programs, and provides direct administration of some programs.

System Oversight

HHSC oversees the Texas health and human services system, which is composed of five agencies:

Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC)
Department of Aging and Disability Services (DADS)
Department of State Health Services (DSHS)
Department of Assistive and Rehabilitative Services (DARS)
Department of Family and Protective Services (DFPS)

Programs Administered by HHSC

Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP)
Texas Women’s Health Program
Temporary Assistance for Needy Families
SNAP Food Benefits and Nutritional Programs
Family Violence Services
Refugee Services
Disaster Assistance

More information about HHSC’s services, principles, and the process for filing complaints and requesting information is outlined in the Compact with Texans.