Texas Property Tax Exemption For Disabled Vets!

We strive to provide the most accurate and timely information possible.  The information provided below is sourced from other agencies and provided for your convenience.  Please confirm your eligibility with your local tax district before acting on the following information.

Veterans who have a service-connected disability rating from the VA can receive a reduction, or total waiver, of their property taxes. The discounts are based on your disability rating and are expressed below:

...an exemption of up to for a disability rating of at least but less than
$ 5,000 of assessed value 10% 30%
$7,500 of appraised value 30% 50%
$10,000 of appraised value 50% 70%
$12,000 of appraised value 70% & over  
100% of appraised value 100% disabled or Individual Unemployability n/a

A disabled Veteran is entitled to an exemption from taxation of $12,000 of the assessed value of the property the Veteran owns if the Veteran:

  • is 65 years of age or older and has a disability rating of at least 10 percent;
  • is totally blind in one or both eyes; or
  • has lost the use of one or more limbs.

To clarify: The exemption reduces the taxable assessed value of a property.  It does not apply directly to the tax levied on the value of a property.  If your property is assessed at $100,000 and you qualify for a $12,000 exemption, the taxable value of your property is $88,000.

Additional eligibility: Surviving spouses and minor children who are unmarried and under 21 years of age of a person who dies on active duty in the U.S. Armed Forces are eligible for an exemption of the first $5000 on the appraised value of their property. A veteran who has a disability rating of 10% or higher and who is 65 years or older is entitled to the maximum property tax exemption.

Note:  The Veteran's name should appear on the title.

The surviving spouse of a deceased veteran, who at the time of death had a compensable disability and was entitled to an exemption, is also entitled to that exemption if the surviving spouse is unmarried but cannot receive 100% exemption. The exemption applies to the property until it changes ownership or the person’s qualification for the exemption changes.

Sources: http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/TX/htm/TX.11.htm#11.22 and 
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/TX/htm/TX.11.htm#11.131

To get started, Fill out Form 50-135 and send to your County Appraisal District.

The deadline for filing for a disabled veteran's exemption is between January 1 and April 30 of the tax year. However, you may file for a disabled veteran's exemption up to one year from the delinquency date.

To file for a disabled veteran's exemption, you must complete the Application for Disabled Veteran's or Survivor's Exemptions form.

2013 Texas Property Tax Exemptions here.

Other helpful links which may answer additional questions for you are:

To successfully apply, you'll need an official service-connected disability awards letter. You can obtain one by calling or visiting your local VA office or by signing up for the VA's eBenefits system. We're told that using the eBenefits system is significantly faster than going through the VA phone system.

This content was last updated 2 months 3 weeks ago

Share this:

Social Service Classification: 

.