Veteran Court - Texas VHA Veterans Justice Outreach

VA is making a system-wide effort to ensure access to services for the justice-involved Veteran population at risk for homelessness, substance abuse, mental illness, and physical health problems.  The Veterans Justice Outreach (VJO) program was created to provide timely access to VA services for eligible justice-involved Veterans to avoid unnecessary criminalization and incarceration of Veteran offenders with mental illness.

A justice-involved Veteran is:

  1. A Veteran in contact with local law enforcement who can be appropriately diverted from arrest into mental health or substance abuse treatment.
  2. A Veteran in a local jail, either pretrial or serving a sentence; or
  3. A Veteran involved in adjudication or monitoring by a court.

The VJO Specialists provide direct outreach, assessment, referral, and case management services to justice-involved Veterans in local courts and jails, and liaison with local justice system partners.

Linkage to the following specialized programs and services may include:

  • Hospital, outpatient medical, dental, pharmacy, and prosthetic services
  • Mental health & substance abuse treatment (residential & in/outpatient)
  • Health Care for Homeless Veterans Program
  • Care coordination with the justice system (attorneys, courts, jails, probation/parole)
  • Veterans eligibility & benefits assistance

Free Legal Clinics:

Free Legal Clinics are held throughout the year in Travis and Bell counties to assist Veterans with brief, legal advice regarding the following services: Chapter 7 bankruptcy, child support, consumer/contracts, divorce or custody, guardianship/probate, landlord/tenant, social security/SSI, wills/estate planning.

For more information, please contact a Veterans Justice Outreach Specialist:

Veteran Justice Outreach Specialists

Display Name Email Address Organization Name City
Alicia Carey alicia.carey@va.gov El Paso VA Health Care System El Paso
Dorothy Carksadon dorothy.carskadon@va.gov Amarillo VA Health Care System Amarillo
Loretta Coonan coonan.lorettaa@va.gov Michael E. DeBakey VA Medical Center Conroe
Loretta Coonan coonan.lorettaa@va.gov Michael E. DeBakey VA Medical Center Houston
Wade Cooper morris.cooper@va.gov Michael E. DeBakey VA Medical Center Houston
Heather DeShone hdeshone@giveanhour.org Michael E. DeBakey VA Medical Center Houston
Latisha Gaten latisha.gaten@va.gov VA North Texas Health Care System Dallas
Evilyn Gibbs evylin.gibbs@va.gov VA North Texas Health Care System Dallas
Chad Henderson edward.henderson2@va.gov VA Texas Valley Coastal Bend Health Care System Corpus Christi
Carol Jackson carol.jackson3@va.gov VA North Texas Health Care System Dallas
Karen Janda LCSW karen.janda@va.gov Central Texas Veterans Health Care System Austin
Henry Molden henry.molden@va.gov Michael E. DeBakey VA Medical Center Conroe
Henry Molden henry.molden@va.gov Michael E. DeBakey VA Medical Center Houston
Treva Neiss treva.neiss@va.gov South Texas Veterans Health Care System San Antonio
Yassica Pujols yasisca.pujols@va.gov VA Texas Valley Coastal Bend Health Care System Corpus Christi
Polly Robertson LCSW polly.robertson@va.gov Central Texas Veterans Health Care System Lago Vista
Polly Robertson LCSW polly.robertson@va.gov Central Texas Veterans Health Care System Austin
Polly Robertson LCSW rekita.justice-logan@va.gov Central Texas Veterans Health Care System Temple
Michelle Smith michelle.smith39e87@va.gov West Texas VA Health Care System Big Spring
Melissa Stroop melissa.stroop@va.gov VA North Texas Health Care System Bonham
Rate this organization:
No votes yet